MAY 15 to MAY 21

The first Academy Awards were held in Hollywood

The first Academy Awards ceremony was held on May 16, 1929, at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel in Los Angeles, California. This ceremony, attended by around 250 people, was not broadcasted live on television and radio. During the 15 minutes ceremony, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences presented awards in twelve categories. Unlike today, the winners were announced almost three months earlier. The best actor and actress award was bagged by Emil Jannings and Janet Gaynor, respectively. A special honorary award was presented to Charlie Chaplin for the movie ‘The Circus’. 'Wings'; the silent movie about two World War I pilots, bagged the Best Picture award.

India's first successful nuclear bomb test

‘Smiling Buddha’ is the code name for India’s first successful underground nuclear weapon test. It was carried out in extreme secrecy on May 18, 1974, by the Indian Army at Pokhran, in the Thar Desert region of Rajasthan. Officially known as Pokhran-I, it was described as a ‘Peaceful Nuclear Explosion’ by the Ministry of External Affairs. It was for the first time a nuclear weapons’ test was conducted by a nation outside the five permanent members of the United Nations Security Council. A team of scientists at Bhabha Atomic Research Centre (BARC) and DRDO were involved in the manufacturing of the nuclear device and in its preparation for a test.

Frederic Passy was born

The French economist Frederic Passy was born on May 20, 1822. He studied and practiced law before entering politics. He left politics to pursue his interest in economy. A great follower of economist Richard Cobden, he was a strong proponent of free trade between nations to promote peace. His peace work started during the Crimean War. In 1867, he succeeded in averting a war between France and Prussia. He founded the ‘International and Permanent League of Peace’ and the first ‘French Peace Society’. He was the co-recipient of the first Nobel Prize for Peace. It was awarded to him in the year 1901 for his extraordinary humanitarian work and peace efforts.

<< Previous Week